



Manufactured Homes **Quick Reference Guide**

This guide is for people who live in manufactured homes (MH) on a parcel not otherwise located in a mobilehome park. It answers common questions, identifies common problems, references important resources, and summarizes the County rules and permit steps. If you have any concerns or more questions, please contact San Bernardino County Land Use Services at 909.387.8311 for help.

Mobilehomes vs Manufactured Homes Defined

People often use "mobilehome" and "manufactured home" to mean the same thing. But, in 1976, the federal government made new rules for manufactured homes.

- Mobilehome: Homes built before June 15, 1976.
- Manufactured Home: Homes built after June 15, 1976, following the new rules.

Manufactured homes must have a U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) tag indicating compliance with the Federal standards of construction. Homes built before June 15, 1976 or without a HUD tag are subject to California State standards in place at the time of construction. Contact HCD: www.hcd.ca.gov. All homes greater than 10 years of age can be installed in the County but are subject to a compatibility determination by County staff.

Key Requirements

rtoy rtoquironionto	
Permits and Approvals	Permits and approvals from San Bernardino County's Land Use Services are required before setting up or installing the unit and/or disturbance.
	No temporary permits are available for installation on your property. You must store the home off-site until all permits are approved.
	Accessory structures to include, but are not limited to decks, patio covers, pergolas, and structures over 120 square feet need a separate permit from the County.
	Any alteration to a manufactured unit requires approval from the California Department of Housing and Community Development.
HUD Label	Homes manufactured after June 15, 1976, must meet Federal standards of construction and have a valid HUD Label.

Apple Valley Sphere of Influence	Homes over 10 years old are not allowed in the Apple Valley Sphere of Influence. Check with County staff to confirm if your property is within this area.
Setbacks	Homes must meet setback requirements as established in the San Bernardino County Development Code.
	Homes must meet site development requirements such as height, buffering, screening, landscaping, parking, and special requirements for fire and flood areas. Other factors like hillsides or protected trees may also affect placement. Curb and gutter may be required. Check with County staff for details.
Legal Property Access	Homes must have legal access to the site from a public street or private easement.
Landscaping	Western Joshua Trees cannot be disturbed within a 40-foot radius (unless otherwise authorized by State law). If you must move or remove the tree, a permit from the California Department of Fish and Wildlife is required.
	Work with County staff to ensure no endangered species are on the property before disturbing the site. Removing native plants requires a permit.
	Front and side yards must be landscaped with native plants. If existing plants are undisturbed, new landscaping may not be needed. New landscape must be xeriscaped.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a manufactured home allowed on my property?	1 3 3	
Do I need a permit to install a manufactured home on my property?	Yes. A permit is needed before setting up or doing any site work. Get the permit from the Building and Safety Division of the County.	
Can I temporarily set down my manufactured home on my property before getting permits?	No. All permits and approvals must be obtained before setting up, installing, or disturbing the site.	

How do I ensure my manufactured home is correctly installed?	Foundation: Every home must be on an approved tie-down or foundation system. You can use a preapproved plan or have an engineer design one. Hazard Zones: County staff will check if your property is in a hazard zone (like earthquake or flood areas) and recommend the right foundation type. Installer: Ensure that the installer is licensed with the California State Licensing Board, unless submitted as owner-builder.
My manufactured home is over 10 years old; do I have any options?	Yes. Provided that the home is <i>outside</i> the Apple Valley Sphere of influence, if you meet these three requirements, the home can be installed if the below requirements are met: • Home complies with all pertinent County requirements pertaining to site installation and setbacks. • Home complies with the standards of the California Department of Housing and Community Development or has a valid HUD label.
What do I do if my property is in a Fire Safety Area?	Check with the local fire authority to determine fire mitigation requirements.
What do I do if my property is in a FEMA Special Flood Hazard Area?	Reach out to County staff to determine if flood provisions are required.
How do I get a replacement HUD Label?	Contact the California Department of Housing and Community Development: www.hcd.ca.gov .

Getting County Approval

You need to obtain a building permit before setting up a manufactured home on your property. No work, including removing plants or trees, can start until you have all the required permits.

Prepare Your Application STEP a. Check Zoning. Make sure your property allows manufactured homes. Check the zoning district and any special planning areas. **b. Estimate Fees.** Talk to County staff about fees estimates, especially for water, sewer, and septic services. c. Review Standards. Check the County Residential Standards checklist to ensure you meet all requirements. **Submit a Building Permit Application** Please make sure your application includes the following: **STEP a.** Forms: Complete and sign application form: https://lus.sbcounty.gov/planning-home/handouts/ **b.** Project Checklist: Please provide all items listed on the application checklist to avoid delays in processing your permit. **County Review STEP** The County reviews building permit application. County staff may require revisions or more information. This process repeats until everything meets the County codes. Track your permit status online at EZ Online Permitting (EZOP). **Installing Your New Home** Conditions of Approval: Once you have the permit, you can move and **STEP** install your home. Follow any conditions attached to your permit. Building Inspection: After installation, call the Building and Safety Division for an inspection. Once approved, you'll get a certificate of occupancy and can move in.

Helpful Tips:

- 1. **Conduct Property Due Diligence**: Research the property for potential issues before buying the land or moving a unit. Contact County Staff for help.
- 2. Get a Handle on Fees: Setting up a manufactured home in California requires fees, permits, and studies, which vary by location and zoning. The average total fee is around \$4,800. This does not include the cost of wells, septic systems, or additional studies, and other applicable fees. Other fees may include:
 - A. Permit and Regulatory Fees.
 - Building Permit
 - Plan Review Fee
 - Accessory Structure Permits
 - Grading Permit
 - Utility Connection Fees
 - Fire Department Fees
 - School Impact Fees
 - Transportation Permit
 - B. Environmental and Site Studies.
 - Geotechnical (Soil) Report
 - Environmental Review (CEQA)
 - Flood Zone Analysis
 - Fire Hazard Assessment
 - C. <u>Installation Costs</u>. Consider these items for a realistic estimate:
 - Housing a used unit until permits are obtained
 - New foundation costs
 - Moving, setdown, and installation expenses
 - · Egress stairs and decking
 - New roofing
 - Landscaping
 - Grading and drainage
 - D. <u>Tax Increases</u>. Installing a manufactured home increases your property value, which can raise your annual property tax.
- 3. **Do Your Research on the Unit**. Before purchasing a home, it's a good idea to do some research. The actions below can help you make an informed decision.
 - Get Professional Inspection: Uncover hidden problems like structural damage, electrical issues, or plumbing defects. Get a detailed report and consider a second opinion.
 - <u>Verify Documentation</u>: Ensure all legal documents are accurate and complete. Consult a real estate attorney if unsure.

- 4. Be Aware of Common Pitfalls. Catch potential "red flags" before purchasing.
 - <u>"Too-Good-to-Be-True" Pricing</u>: Extremely low prices can mean hidden defects or missing costs like transportation or setup. Research similar homes to ensure fair pricing.
 - False Advertising: Misleading descriptions and fake photos are common. Visit the home in person or request a virtual tour to verify its condition.
 - <u>Pressure Sales Tactics</u>: Some dealers push for quick decisions with limited-time offers. Take your time to research and compare options.
 - <u>Unlicensed Dealers</u>: Dealing with unlicensed sellers increases the risk of fraud. Verify the dealer's credentials with local authorities.
 - <u>Title Issues</u>: Some homes may have unclear ownership. Contact HCD to verify physical owners of used units and the presence of any potential liens.
- 5. **Consider an Escrow Account When Purchasing**. An escrow account is not always required but it protects all parties in a real estate transaction. It ensures the home is free from liens or other issues.
- 6. **Keep Track of Contractor's Work.** Check the status of your permit online at EZOP. You can see if the permit is active, if fees are due, or if there are any requests for more information.

Funding + Resources

This list provides summaries and links to financial resources that may be useful. Please review the information to see if the resources are right for your household. Check with each agency for eligibility.

Col	unty Level Financial Loan Programs	
The Housing Authority of San	The Housing Authority of San	Neighborhood Partnership
Bernardino County	Bernardino County	Housing Services, Inc (NPHS)
Homeownership Assistance	Family Self-Sufficiency Program	Down Payment Assistance,
Program: Mortgage help for up to	(FSS): A five-year plan to help you	Factory Built ADU Financing,
15 years for working families and	get a job, increase earnings, and	Home Repair Programs, and HUD
up to 30 years for disabled	become independent of	Approved Homebuyer Education
families.	government help.	and Counseling.
715 East Brier Dr	672 S. Waterman Ave	9551 Pittsburgh Ave
San Bernardino, CA 92408	San Bernardino, CA 92408	Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
(909) 332-6311	(909) 890-5386	(909) 988-5979
Neighborhood Housing	Inland Empire Resource	Inland Fair Housing and
Services of the Inland Empire	Centers (IERCS)	Mediation Board (IFHMB)
(NHSIE)		
	Credit Counseling, First Time	Fair Housing Services,
Section 8 Housing Program,	Homebuyer Counseling, Loss	Landlord/Tenant Mediation,
Disaster Recovery, High Loan	Mitigation, and Foreclosure	Housing Counseling, Alternative
Counseling, Reverse Mortgage	Prevention.	Dispute Resolution, and Senior
Counseling, Foreclosure		Services.
Intervention, Transitional Rental	325 W Hospitality Ln	
Assistance, and Rental	San Bernardino, CA 92408	3175 D Sedona Ct,
Counseling.	(909) 887-8700	Suite 2,Ontario, CA, 91764
		(909) 984-2254
1845 Business Center Drive		
South, Suite 120		
San Bernardino CA 92408		
(909) 884-6891		
San Bernardino County		
Community Development &		
Housing Department and HOME		
Investment Partnership		
Program		
Grants for building busing and		
Grants for building, buying, and		
rehabilitating affordable housing for rent or homeownership for		
moderate to low-income		
households.		
ที่เบนจัยทับเนร.		
560 E. Hospitality Lane, Suite 20,		
San Bernardino, CA 92415		
Phone: (909) 501-0600		
1 110116. (303) 30 1-0000		

State Level Financial Loan Programs		
Homeownership Super NOFA	California Housing Finance	Manufactured Housing
(HOSN)	Agency (CalHFA)	Opportunity & Revitalization
		Program (MORE)
CalHome Program for low-	First Mortgage Government and	Funds for mobilehome parks for
income households and	Conventional Loans, Down	acquisition, conversion,
Farmworker Housing Grant for	Payment Assistance Programs,	rehabilitation, reconstruction,
agricultural employees.	Multifamily Programs, and	and replacement.
	Hardship Assistance.	
HOSN@hcd.ca.gov		MORE@hcd.ca.gov
(916) 263-2771	(877) 922-5432	(916) 263-2771

Federal Level Financial Loan Progr	
Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Loans	USDA Rural Development Programs
Loans for manufactured housing and mobilehomes, energy improvements, first-time buyers, and seniors.	Helps low to very-low-income applicants buy, build, improve, or repair a rural home. Check eligibility
(800) 569-4287	sm.rd.ca.sfhdirect@usda.gov (530) 792-5800 ext. 1

This handout is intended as an informational document only. Please refer to the San Bernardino County Development Code for standards for manufactured homes and residential homes in the County, and to relevant codes and regulations provided by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and the California Department of Housing and Community Development.